FNS

Azlen Elza

Background

I’m not sure how to introduce myself. Typically, I will say that I am a programmer/designer, but that is like a writer introducing themselves as a pencil/eraser; programming is simply a tool with which I use to pursue my projects, and design a necessity to innovate on ideas.

I have more projects than I can count. From a face-detection musical instrument, to an ambigram font with which you can ‘shift’ your perception between reading one word or the other, or experiments in generative design where I tried to teach the computer to design business cards.

Interests

I’m currently building a language learning app, trying to start a video series about cities/psychology, and desiging an online platform for communal learning. Contrary to appearances, all three of these projects stem from three ‘pillars’ of interest: the mind, city, and education. These interests also form the longer-term goals which I am interested in exploring further:

• Mind : I want to explore how the mind works and develop tools to think and learn more effectively.

• How can I use existing mnemonic techniques or invent new ones to remember more effectively?
    • Hammers are one of many tools to manipulate physical matter, but what tools could exist in our mental toolbox to manipulate thoughts or ideas?
  • City : I want to imagine and build the cities of the future.

• How can cities be better designed to foster community and participation?
    • In what ways do cities affect us psychologically?
  • Education : I want to create new mediums, platforms, or opportunities for learning.

• Instead of how MOOCs try to replicate university lectures but at a collosal and impersonal scale, how can we make online education more personal and niche to individual interests? The internet is a perfect platform to connect small groups of motivated people around a common interest or niche area of study.