FNS

Brendan Schlagel

Background

Hey, I’m Brendan (he/him), I grew up in Seattle, and I’ve now lived in Brooklyn for around 8 years.

I studied photography and film in college, but have always been drawn to many forms of media-making. I particularly enjoy reading, writing, making websites, independent librarianship, and hip-hop.

At my day job, helping run a learning site / community for guitarists, I do a mix of web development, marketing, community management, and other miscellany.

Some fun things I’ve made / explored include…

• Antilibraries: website curating great books + community for talking books / reading / libraries / related topics (fellow bibliophile? join us!)
  • Self Starter’s Guide: loose collection of experiments in self-directed learning, from a handful of unfinished books and curricula, to a series of idea exchange dinners
  • Personal canon: collecting books, websites, and other media that have most influenced me
  • I also like to blog, though it’s as yet a very irregular habit!

Interests

I came up with a whole list of “learning topics” a few years back but this is a great excuse to update it! Broadly, a few things I’m very interested in learning more about:

• Library and information science: curation, annotation, antilibraries, organizing information
  • Economics of independent creativity: alternate theories / models for sustainable work, patronage and gift exchange, radical organizational structures, etc.
  • Tech / web dev / digital publishing: learning more elements of a modern web stack e.g. Javascript and some kind of backend framework (maybe Laravel), the Indieweb, wikis, and more
  • Hip-hop poetics, songwriting, production: I’d like to explore hip-hop lyricism more rigorously, maybe experiment with applying Oulipean poetic constraints to rap, and work on an album